Winners of 2019 Omrania | CSBE Award Honored at Ceremony and Exhibition

Omrania | CSBE Student Award for Architectural Design. 12th Cycle. 2019


The twelfth cycle of the Award program united students, professors, architects, and members of the public to celebrate the next generation of great design.


The 2019 twelfth cycle of the Omrania | CSBE Student Award for Architectural Design once again drew hundreds of competitive submissions from dozens of universities in multiple countries across the Arab world. This annual showcase and competition of budding architectural talent—meant to promote and recognize excellence in design at the university level—was evaluated by distinguished jury members Rana Beiruti, Can Çinici, and Thomas Vonier. The jury members selected three outstanding projects as equal winners after reviewing the submitted projects at Omrania’s offices in Amman on October 15–16th, 2019.

The three winning projects, in alphabetical order, are:

“Gaia’s Protégé: Anti-Desertification Research and Educational Facility”
By: Mohammad Alrababah
Instructor: Saleem Dahabreh
The University of Jordan
View project’s sheet 

“Rethinking the Tampouy Neighbourhood, Ouagadougou, Burkina Faso”
By: Eline Sleiman
Instructor: Jihad Kiame
Academie Libanese des Baux-Arts
View project’s sheet

“X-cavating the Future of Sidon”
By: Christina Battikha
Instructor: Sinan Hassan
American University of Beirut
View project’s sheet

The Award ceremony took place on November 26, 2019 at the Fairmont Amman Hotel. The ceremony included welcoming remarks followed by a presentation by Saleem Dahabreh, Associate Professor, Department of Architectural Engineering, The University of Jordan, who supervised one of the winning projects. The Award recipients then presented their projects to the audience, and then received their Award certificates, together with their instructors. The ceremony was followed by a reception and an exhibition featuring the submissions for this Award cycle and the winning projects from all past cycles.

Omrania salutes the student winners and their professors for their excellent effort, along with all those who submitted projects, and we wish you continued success in the years ahead.